Home > Dice, DnD, Pathfinder, Reviews, RPGs > Q-Workshop – Deluxe Dice for Added Flavor

Q-Workshop – Deluxe Dice for Added Flavor

December 14, 2011

If you’ve played any pencil and paper role-playing game for a fair amount of time, you likely own your own set of dice. The variety available from companies like Chessex, Koplow, and GameScience are staggering. Q-workshop is a Polish dice company that specializes in dice that have a very unique look.

Beyond just looking great, these dice can help you get in to your character. For instance, the dwarven set is covered in axes and hammers. Stereotypically, a dwarf is on the front lines, swinging one of these iconic weapons. When the dice hit the table, and my damage die has my weapon on it, it makes me feel more connected with my character. Q-workshop has sets for just about any type of character. Elven sets, Runic sets, and a set covered in dragons (probably most appropriate for the DM)! There are several sets for specific games, like Deadlands, Munchkin, and Pathfinder.

I love dice. One of my earliest memories of D&D is wondering what the crazy-shaped dice were for. It was part of the attraction to the game for me. I personally own the Dwarven and Steampunk sets. Since showing them to my gamer friends, they picked up the Runic and Earthdawn sets. They are certainly more expensive than your average set of dice, and some of the designs are difficult to actually read the number. Be sure and consider the color combination as well, as some are easier to read than others, depending on the design.

If you are tired of your old dice and are looking for something really special, check out Q-Workshop!

Categories: Dice, DnD, Pathfinder, Reviews, RPGs Tags: , ,
  1. December 15, 2011 at 1:46 pm | #1

    Wow, these are really cool! Beautiful, artistic, unique.

    Do you feel these are high-contrast enough for instant readability? After all, dice readability and style go hand-in-hand!

    Looking at the blown-up pictures it’s hard to rate their high-contrast level, though they do look above average. Sure, not as high-contrast due to the artwork like solid black/white or solid white/black for example, but they really are astonishingly cool dice!

    Just checked out the Q-Workshop link and I see they have a primal dice set! Now those would be perfect for my current epic primal campaign. Good stuff, thanks!

    • December 16, 2011 at 10:53 am | #2

      I personally own the two sets featured in the post, and I feel like they read really well. Some of the styles such as Forest and Celtic I find a lot harder to read. Let me know how the Primals look out in the field! ;)

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 409 other followers

