Home > 5e, DnD, News, RPGs > 5e #dndnext

5e #dndnext

January 10, 2012

It’s rare that gaming makes the NY Times, but when it does, it’s usually something big.

“On Monday, Wizards of the Coast, the Hasbro subsidiary, announced that a new edition is under development, the first overhaul of the rules since the contentious fourth edition was released in 2008,” reports the New York Times.

Well, we all might have seen this coming, and gamer-kind is reacting as we might expect:  rage, excitement, disgust, and anticipation.  Speculation of a new edition had increased in recent months with the rehiring of Monte Cook back in September. Months of speculation have proved prescient, and now gamers of the old school everywhere hold their breath to see if the system they know and love can make its saving throw to survive another edition.

Wizards has announced they will heavily seek player input in regard to the construction of the new edition.  This process is partially responsible for the success of Paizo’s extensive playtesting and player input driven Alpha and Beta testing of the Pathfinder RPG, and can’t hurt the new edition that is eventually released.

It’s going to be an interesting time, that much is for certain.  We’d like to hear your comments about the new edition and predictions for changes proposed for the next incarnation of D&D.

Categories: 5e, DnD, News, RPGs
  1. January 10, 2012 at 9:46 am

    I’m honestly not optimistic. They made some very strong choices with 4 ed. – specifically targeting one type of player. I enjoyed the few games I played with that system — but soon got bored, and drifted over to nice and chewy Pathfinder. Here’s hoping they pull it out, though!

    • January 10, 2012 at 9:52 am

      I completely understand that feeling. I really like playing both systems. I think its important for people who are down on 4e to participate in the player feedback to help drive 5e to a game more people want to play. I can’t imagine they’ll be able to please everyone, but at least they’re trying to right the ship.

      • January 10, 2012 at 10:08 am

        Agreed. They have the strongest brand on the market, I think they have a shot. Ha, I catch myself referring to Pathfinder as D&D half the time anyway.

        What changes would you like to see them make? Things you’d like them to keep?

      • January 10, 2012 at 10:22 am

        I was talking about this with my wife (a non-gamer) and several of my gaming friends. I think if you went around a six-person gaming table you would hear six different opinions. I think that is the true challenge of this next edition. On the surface it sounds like they are trying to be everything to everyone, which is of course, impossible. They need to honor and maintain the roots of DnD, but also innovate. I’ll play it regardless of what they come up with. I hope to voice my opinions during the development process if possible.

        The modular approach sounds like a intriguing concept. I would like to see a basic game that is really accessible to new gamers and reminiscent for disgruntled grognards. Then an advanced version that is completely compatible with the basic game, but adds layers of complexity as desired. Sounds familiar, right? I hope the numbers go back to being more in line for previous editions, or at least be easy to convert from old stuff to new.

        If I was sitting on all the IP wizards is, I would convert all the old iconic modules from the past and convert them to the new system and release them as PDFs for sale, then work on PDFs of the old settings. Especially popular ones that haven’t been updated in awhile like Greyhawk and Dragonlance.

        I could go on forever, but needless to say, the guys of Skyland Games will keep a close eye on all the developments and participate if possible!

  2. January 10, 2012 at 11:07 am

    I was fortunate enough to playtest D&D Next. I shared what I could on my blog. Overall, I think the open playtest is a great idea. It will allow for better feedback from the community and hopefully a game that is closer to what fans of all editions desire.

    • January 10, 2012 at 11:41 am

      Sounds like a great concept. It just seems like a tall order to me. In order to get back people who were staunchly against 4e its got to be way different than 4e, which will of course make the 4e fans mad. I’m eager to see what comes of all of this.

  3. January 10, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    As a long time player, I’d have to say that I like to see the history continue to build and take shape. I really enjoyed the “Expedition to” series that wrapped up 3.5 (Expedition to Castle Greyhawk, Ravenloft, the Demonweb Pits, etc.) and think it’s important to feed that audience.

    Really what players want is a game that plays fast, is dynamic, has unlimited potential and flexibility, is relatively easy to learn, and scales well.

    Good luck with that. ;)

  1. January 10, 2012 at 9:44 am
  2. January 11, 2012 at 9:30 am
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 442 other followers

