Home > 4e, Adventure, DnD, Lore, Pirates > Adapting Old Modules for 4e

Adapting Old Modules for 4e

December 1, 2011

The pirate campaign has been great fun so far. For this campaign we are throwing XP out the window, and round-robin DMing; leveling up any time we switch DMs. Our initial adventure is complete, and we’re setting sail to unknown horizons. DM for next level: This guy.

I love reading through old modules for inspiration, and I love the old school aesthetic. I found one particular module that I think lends itself to adaptation for our pirate campaign: B4 The Lost City. I’m aware that this particular mod has already been updated, but for Paragon Tier, of which our new scurvy dogs are not even close. I don’t want to give too much away, as several of the crew keep tabs on the blog, but I did want to mention that the process has been really fun, and a lot less painful than I anticipated. Most of the monsters already have 4e stats, and the trap damage can be updated by roughly multiplying the potential damage by about 4x. Other than that, its just a matter of drawing the maps. The old maps typically are 1 square = 10 feet, rather than 1:5ft., but that just makes for a more spacious map!

I’ve heard the complaint of so many fights in 4e being a squad of bad dudes in a room 8 squares by 8 squares, but its funny how often I’m encountering that very same setup in the earliest days of D&D. Dust off your old mods, and take a look. You might be surprised!

Don’t be afraid to try a 4e conversion of an old module. Its been a really fun and educational experience for me. Have you had a similar experience, or was a conversion a big pain? Let us know in the comments below!

  1. Scott
    December 4, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    I love old stuff. One reason is that shared experience you get from generations of gamers who have tackled the same encounter before. Situations that have multiple solutions are fascinating when approached by different types of players. At least to me.

    After searching my brain, I think I DO remember the Lost City from when I was a itty-bitty gamer (like 8 years old, if you can believe). Several of the older guys I gamed with periodically mentioned something about the mod being underwater, and one or two guys dying. 1st Edition was pretty lethal back in those days, and making new characters (sometimes mid-session) was not unheard of.

    Looking forward to seeing the outcome of your conversion. Get those underwater rules down!

  2. December 4, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    The original mod was under the sand, and the party was supposed to be lost in the desert. I don’t think this will be brutally lethal, but certainly challenging.

  1. December 7, 2011 at 9:17 am
  2. December 28, 2011 at 2:20 pm
  3. February 8, 2012 at 10:49 am
  4. March 14, 2012 at 10:03 am
Comments are closed.
