Home > News, RPGs, Tips > #RPGchat – Thursdays @ 9pm Eastern

#RPGchat – Thursdays @ 9pm Eastern

December 16, 2011

If you love games, you’ve got to get on Twitter. I avoided twitter for years. Another social media network to keep up with? No thank you. I come to you, my hat in my hands, to say I was wrong.

If you’re new to twitter and in to RPGs, start a twitter account, and follow everyone you find at dndtweets.com. From there, see who they are tweeting about/with and join the conversation. I’ve had great interactions with people who create the awesome games/comics/products we all enjoy. To be able to have those kind of personal interactions is something unique to twitter.

One of the best weekly twitter events I’ve stumbled across is #RPGchat. It’s a conversation typically hosted by @d20blonde with a topic usually suggested by one of the participants. I’ve conversed with a ton of great gamers from all over the world on a variety of topics, and every time I take away a new perspective.

Most recently, I got in a conversation with Zachary Kline (@zkline), a college student at Oregon State University. He tweeted that he liked one of my comments about passing a new rule book around the table to encourage players to try a new game. I mentioned I was really looking forward to the Dungeon Crawl Classics rule book with all its old school art. He said he’d have to take my word for it, since he is blind. Whoa. So many questions flew into my head at once. Are their RPG books in braille? What about dice? He was really cool about answering questions I’m sure he gets all the time.

It’s always an interesting conversation about topics relating to RPGs. One of the easiest ways to join the conversation is to enter the #RPGchat hash tag in to tweetchat.com.  Tweetchat allows you to follow a hash tag exclusive to any other tweets that may be going on at the time.

I’ll be there next week. Hopefully you will be too!

Categories: News, RPGs, Tips Tags: , ,
  1. December 16, 2011 at 9:50 am

    Love to see people getting something out of #RPGchat. It’s been really awesome to watch it grow from a personal experiment to something that gamers really look forward to. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
