Home > Adventure, DCCRPG, Monster, News, Paizo, Pathfinder, Pirates, RPGs > Turning a newbie into a GameMaster

Turning a newbie into a GameMaster

July 4, 2012

As fans of this blog know, Free RPG day was a resounding success! The first thing I ran that day was the Pathfinder Beginner Box. A few of us who were trying to find a game early in the day started talking about what we wanted to play. One of the guys milling about had the beginner box tucked under his arm, freshly purchased. He had read it was a good intro to RPGs, and had never played one before. I immediately offered to run it for him, as I had run it in the past, and we quickly gathered a full table. We all had a blast and got through the included adventure in about two hours.

Fast forward to yesterday, I stopped in at the Wyvern’s Tale to pick up the monastery flip-mat for the Asheville Pathfinder Lodge meeting this Saturday. I chatted for awhile with Siméon (one of the owners) about upcoming events, and how the lodge is growing exponentially. He let me know that the same guy who had just purchased the beginner box a few weeks ago gathered up a few players looking for a game and GMed it himself! He was getting so in to it, Siméon said he could hear him from downstairs! Hearing this filled my heart with absolute joy. To be able to take a hobby that I enjoy so much, and personally spread the love of the game to others is what its all about.

Also in our conversation was an awesome upcoming release that piqued my interest: the Bestiary Box! I’ve never been in to collecting minis, but I do like having a cool representation of both heroes and baddies on the table. The pawns included with the beginner box were a really cool and inexpensive way to make the game come to life. No doubt minis are even better for this, but they’re also pretty expensive and somewhat hard to store if you have a lot of them. Enter the Bestiary Box! For MSRP $35 you get more than 250 different baddies to drop on the table, and the right size bases for large and huge creatures! That’s a steal in my book.

Also, lest you think Skyland Games is all Pathfinder all-the-time, I’ve got the DCCRPG adventures on order from the Wyvern’s Tale. I can’t wait to check out what each one holds! I’ve been making enough noises on the blog and at the Lodge meetings to garner some interest in running a table or two of DCCRPG. Once the guys are a little burned out on Pathfinder, we’ll get back to the coolest old-school/new RPG on the block!

In other news, the Skulls and Shackles Pirate Campaign is going swimmingly (sometimes literally). We’re about at the end of the Wormwood Mutiny, and I have to say I’m impressed. Our intrepid GM Micheal has put a lot of prep-work in to making it awesome for us, but there are certainly a lot of excellent and varied encounters throughout, without losing that distinctive pirate feel. Nice work Paizo, and thanks to our awesome GM and players!

Some of the Skyland Games guys are taking this holiday to get together, grill out, and roll some dice! Hope you get to do the same. Speaking of which, I’ve got some maps to draw. Game on!

  1. August 8, 2012 at 10:28 pm

    Free RPG Day was indeed great. I actually had two new HackMaster players turn up, but I haven’t seen them since. I’d love to add a couple of people to my monthly game.

    You got me all excited when you talked about the Bestiary Box, but then I found out they were paper. 8o( I’ve got tons of free paper minis already (which let me pick and choose the exact ones I want and as many as I want), and Steve Jackson’s Cardboard Heroes have been available forever so Paizo’s a bit late to the game anyway. I really wish you’d mentioned the fact that they weren’t actually minis.

    Now if the WizKids Pathfinder minis suddenly came in non-random packs – THAT would be exciting. 8o) I’d love to grab a few of those for some of my most-often played characters, as well as a dozen each of 2-3 common types of monsters. I have less than zero interest in Pathfinder, but I love me some WizKids (as evidenced by the fact that I continued running HeroClix even after the company closed) and know they make quality products.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
