Home > Uncategorized > Dem Bones, Dem Bones

Dem Bones, Dem Bones

October 14, 2013

Unless you live under a rock somewhere, you’ve no doubt heard that Reaper Miniatures is Kickstarting the second set of Bones miniatures. Once again, they’re offering a mega-pile of new Bones plastic miniatures at a very deep discount, and have a number of add-ons you can get for things like miniature cases and their line of awesome paints. This time around they are doing something new with their stretch goals: instead of a pile of all add-ons, they have the Core set, and — for now — two add-on ‘expansions’ to the Core set for $50 each. This is of course, in addition to some more add-ons. It’s an interesting way of doing it. Makes it easier, in one aspect, and gives people a wider variety of figures to choose from.

Maybe it’s just me… but didn’t we JUST get our Bones like a week ago? Don’t get me wrong, I’m all in this time around as well. In my opinion, it’s a fantastic bargain and having received the miniatures in more or less the time promised, I can honestly say the quality is as good as I thought it would be for being plastic miniatures. The detail is impressive, they seem to hold paint well and the reviews I have seen have been, for the most part, positive. But… this time around there is some grumbling from the international (i.e. out of the US) purchasers because during the last Bones run, without a European distributor, Reaper had to pay more for shipping than anticipated. This time around, they are having the international customers pay exact shipping charges and have a new calculator for them to use… and it’s causing some negativity to flourish.

I understand their frustration, but I don’t think that it will have much of an impact. It may encourage Reaper try to find a distributor, which would be a good thing, in my opinion… but there’s a vocal minority filling up the Kickstarter comments with negative feelings… and that’s a bad thing. By the time Bones 3 rolls along, I’m sure these issues will have been dealt with. In the meantime, we have a new set and a new Kickstarter to refresh every hour to see how far they’ve gotten in their stretch goals.

MINIATURE TIP OF THE WEEK:

When I go to a convention, I have all my miniatures packed in a nice case, secured in their places by foam and plastic. But in our weekly Pathfinder Reign of Winter adventure path home game, I have just the one miniature to cart around. I’d been just randomly throwing him in my gaming bag, but worried that the hands I’d swapped out would snap off with such a cavalier attitude. I’d seen this idea somewhere else, and decided to give it a try.

Take an empty plastic dice box and cut a small piece of double-sided carpet tape and place on the extruded side. Firmly put your miniature on the tape and put the plastic box back over the top. Presto! Your friendly local wizard is protected from the pens, papers, pencils and Core Rulebooks smashing him into oblivion!

 

Categories: Uncategorized
